PodcastKeep, your handy notebook for podcasts. #AmplifyHashnode

I will be giving an overview about my project (PodcastKeep) for the #AmplifyHashnode hackathon in this post.

PodcastKeep provides you with an interactive interface to note down your notes while you are listening to your favorite podcast.

The Problem Statement:

Retaining information has become more difficult than before. Due to which long format content such as Podcast barely get any attention, in spite of the fact that podcasts provide a plethora of knowledge to it's audience.

Due to the fact that podcasts provide so much valuable information that we as humans tend to forget the content. I soon realized this during the lockdown and start making notes.

But there was an issue, I used to listen to some podcasts travelling outside or sitting in a cafe where writing down the notes wasn't practical.

Inspiration:

When I started learning git, I was not aware on what and how MarkDown files work or how are the rules structured for them. I had not written a single Markdown file until 2019, but once understood how markdown worked I was completely blown away by the simplicity of the formatting and style of writing.

Idea:

The idea was simply born out of the fact that I was not able to manage and organize multiple notebooks and sometimes I would have to retake all the notes because I had lost it.

Coming to the Project, I have used

  • React on the frontend along with Redux-Toolkit for state management

  • Firebase as a backend service

  • Hosted using Aws Amplify.

Live Link: PodcastKeep

Github Repo: Repo

I will be uploading the Project Video in some time.

I have personally learnt a lot from the project and would encourage everyone to try out new things and project which they didn't have earlier.

By developing the backend on firebase and hosting on AWS Amplify, I feel confident on how a full stack application works

Demo Gif

  • What's next?
  • A discussion forum allowing people to collaborate and share their insights
  • Sharing the podcast notes with your friends
  • Providing each user with a social identity on the website